Circular portrait Tanya Derksen

Tanya Derksen

OC Director / VP Artistic Production, Philadelphia Orchestra

Tanya was appointed vice president of artistic production at The Philadelphia Orchestra in October 2019. Prior to that, she was executive director of the Regina Symphony Orchestra.

During her five years at the helm of the Regina Symphony Orchestra, Tanya oversaw operations and production, touring, artistic and educational programming, community partnerships, financial management, and more, working closely with the music director, musicians of the Orchestra, and staff. She led the organization through a significant period of growth, launching a festival focused on social change issues, establishing new education programs, transforming marketing strategies, and securing the organization’s largest individual gift of $1 million.

Tanya previously served as director of education and outreach for the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra and held roles with Manitoba Music and the Ruth Cansfield Dance Company. An accomplished pianist, she has performed internationally with choirs and soloists, taught private lessons, and served as a piano adjudicator for community music festivals.

Tanya received her Bachelor of Music degree from Brandon University and her MBA from the Asper School of Business at the University of Manitoba. She is a director and immediate past-president of Orchestras Canada and has served in leadership roles with the Sistema Canada Steering Committee, the Manitoba Conservatory of Music and Arts, the Future Leaders of Manitoba, and the 2015 National Conference for Music Educators in Canada.

Tanya Derksen

Tanya Derksen

Administratrice d'OC | Vice-présidente de la production artistique au Philadelphia Orchestra

Tanya a été nommée vice-présidente de la production artistique au Philadelphia Orchestra en octobre 2019. Elle était auparavant directrice générale du Regina Symphony Orchestra.

Durant son mandat de cinq ans à la tête du Regina Symphony Orchestra, elle a encadré, entre autres, les opérations et la production, les tournées, la programmation artistique et éducative, les partenariats communautaires et la gestion financière, travaillant en étroite collaboration avec le directeur musical, les musiciens de l’orchestre et le personnel. Elle a mené l’organisme au cours d’une période de croissance importante et lancé un festival centré sur les enjeux de changement social, en plus d’établir de nouveaux programmes éducatifs, de transformer les stratégies de marketing et d’obtenir le don individuel le plus élevé pour l’organisme, soit de 1 million $.

Tanya a antérieurement été directrice de l’éducation et du rayonnement communautaire pour le Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra; elle a aussi joué des rôles auprès de Manitoba Music et de la Ruth Cansfield Dance Company. Pianiste accomplie, elle s’est produite sur la scène internationale avec des chœurs et solistes, donné des cours particuliers et été juge de piano pour des festivals de musique communautaires.

Tanya a obtenu un baccalauréat en musique de l’Université de Brandon et une MBA de l’Asper School of Business de l’Université du Manitoba. Elle est administratrice et présidente sortante d’Orchestres Canada et elle a exercé des rôles de leadership auprès du comité directeur de Sistema Canada, du Manitoba Conservatory of Music and Arts, du groupe Future Leaders of Manitoba et de la Conférence nationale des éducateurs de musique du Canada de 2015.