Circular portrait of Boran Zaza

Boran Zaza

Communications Director

Boran Zaza holds multiple degrees in music education, musicology and piano from top institutions in Iraq, Lebanon and Canada. She studied Piano under the tutelage of Patil Harboyan, and Choral Conducting under Jean-Sebastien Vallée at McGill University. Before transitioning to Arts Administration, Boran’s professional musical engagements had led her to perform in prestigious venues in Canada, Iraq, Lebanon, Oman, Dubai, Italy and the USA.

Growing up in Iraq, Boran was pianist and percussionist of the National Youth Orchestra of Iraq; and hosted her own classical music radio program called “Behind the Music”, which was the first radio program dedicated to classical music in the country.

From 2018 to 2020, Boran Zaza was the Executive and Artistic Director of the Oasis Musicale Concert Series and the Marketing Manager of the Orchestre classique de Montréal. She is currently Communications Director at Orchestras Canada and the Canadian Association for the Performing Arts. In her free time, Boran enjoys videography, coding, recording voice overs and tuning pianos.

Circular portrait of Boran Zaza

Boran Zaza

Directrice des communications

Boran Zaza est titulaire de plusieurs diplômes en éducation musicale, en musicologie et en piano, obtenus dans des institutions de premier plan en Irak, au Liban et au Canada. Elle a étudié le piano sous la tutelle de Patil Harboyan et la direction de chœur sous la direction de Jean-Sébastien Vallée à l’université McGill. Avant de faire la transition vers l’administration des arts, les engagements professionnels de Boran dans le domaine de la musique l’ont amenée à se produire dans des lieux prestigieux au Canada, en Irak, au Liban, à Oman, à Dubaï, en Italie et aux États-Unis.

Ayant grandi dans la région du Kurdistan d’Irak, Boran a été pianiste et percussionniste de l’Orchestre national des jeunes d’Irak et a animé sa propre émission de radio de musique classique intitulée « Behind the Music”, qui a été la première émission de radio consacrée à la musique classique dans le pays.

De 2018 à 2020, Boran Zaza a été la gérante de la série de concerts Oasis Musicale et la directrice du marketing de l’Orchestre classique de Montréal. Elle est présentement directrice des communications d’Orchestres Canada et de l’Association canadienne des organismes artistiques. Dans ses temps libres, Boran aime la vidéographie, le codage, l’enregistrement de voix off et l’accordage de pianos.