Photo: Roberta Smith

Roberta Smith

Vice-President, OC Board | Vice-President & Chief of Staff, Toronto Symphony Orchestra

Roberta Smith is the Vice-President & Chief of Staff at the Toronto Symphony Orchestra (TSO). She has worked at the TSO for over 20 years, with leadership roles in education, community engagement, orchestra operations and senior management.

Ms Smith spent the early part of her career at the TSO developing and expanding education programmes for young people living in the Greater Toronto Area, as well as for youth living in many smaller communities throughout Ontario. Under her guidance and leadership, the TSO produced How the Gimquat Found Her Song (2009), an award-winning, multi-media Teacher Resource package, and commissioned a popular new orchestral work for children based on Roch Carrier’s iconic Canadian story, The Hockey Sweater (2012). More recently, Ms. Smith has been involved in ongoing senior level operational activities including union contract negotiations, international touring, and strategic planning.

Ms. Smith was awarded the John Hobday Award in Arts Management (Canada Council) in 2009. She holds a Masters degree in Musicology from the University of Toronto and an MBA from the Schulich School of Business, where she now co-teaches a course entitled The Business of Creativity.

Photo: Roberta Smith

Roberta Smith

Vice-présidente, conseil d'administration d'OC | Vice-président et chef de cabinet, Toronto Symphony Orchestra

Roberta Smith est vice-présidente et chef de cabinet au Toronto Symphony Orchestra (TSO). Elle travaille pour le TSO depuis plus de 20 ans, exerçant des rôles de leadership dans les domaines de l’éducation, de l’engagement communautaire, des opérations orchestrales, des relations gouvernementales, et des ressources humaines.

Au début de sa carrière au TSO, Mme Smith s’est employée à créer et à développer des programmes d’éducation destinés aux jeunes tant de la région du Grand Toronto que des petites collectivités de l’Ontario. Sous sa direction, le TSO a produit How the Gimquat Found Her Song (2009), une ressource pédagogique multimédia primée, en plus de commander une nouvelle œuvre orchestrale populaire basée sur le célèbre conte de Roch Carrier, Le chandail de hockey (2012). Récemment, Mme Smith a été chargée d’activités opérationnelles de haut niveau, y compris de négociations de contrats, de tournées internationales et de planification stratégique.

Mme Smith a remporté le prix John-Hobday en gestion des arts (Conseil des arts du Canada) en 2009. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en musicologie de l’Université de Toronto et d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires de la Schulich School of Business, où elle enseigne en régime de collaboration un cours sur la créativité et les affaires.