Photo, Ian Ritchie

Ian Ritchie

Founder & Artistic Director, Setúbal Music Festival

Ian Ritchie studied at the Royal College of Music, Cambridge University (Trinity College) and the Guildhall School of Music & Drama.  Since 1979, he has led a number of prominent British arts organisations, including the City of London Sinfonia, the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Opera North, St Magnus Festival (Orkney) and the City of London Festival. While managing the SCO, he also served as Chairman of the Association of British Orchestras.

Ian founded the Setúbal Music Festival in 2010 and has been its Artistic Director since. He subsequently set up the city’s socially-inclusive Youth Ensemble, which grew out of the Festival’s work as the first of its kind in Europe, and now is developing a Centre for Music, Health & Wellbeing in Portugal.

As Artistic Director of The Musical Brain, he has curated annual conferences and other events exploring music’s many relationships with our minds and brains.  He is involved in a number of cultural charities, including two which he chairs: Carnyx & Co, supporting the development and use of new instruments for disabled musicians, and Music Action International, helping refugees and asylum seekers to rebuild their lives though making music.  He remains active as a classical solo singer.

Back to the National Conference page

Photo, Ian Ritchie

Ian Ritchie

Fondateur et directeur artistique, Setúbal Music Festival

Ian Ritchie a fait ses études au Royal College of Music de l’Université Cambridge (Trinity College) ainsi qu’à la Guildhall School of Music & Drama.  À partir de 1979, il a été à la tête de plusieurs organismes artistiques importants de Grande-Bretagne, y compris le City of London Sinfonia, le Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Opera North, St Magnus Festival (Orkney) et le City of London Festival. Tout en dirigeant le SCO, il a aussi été président de l’Association of British Orchestras.

En 2010, Ian a fondé le Festival de musique de Setúbal, dont il est le directeur artistique depuis cette date. Il a par la suite créé l’Ensemble de jeunes de cette ville, qui se veut inclusif des jeunes et qui est issu des démarches du Festival, le premier en son genre en Europe. Il est en voie d’établir au Portugal un centre de musique, de santé et de mieux-être.

À titre de directeur artistique du Musical Brain, il a organisé des conférences annuelles et d’autres événements explorant les nombreuses relations que la musique entretient avec l’esprit et le cerveau. Il intervient auprès de plusieurs organismes caritatifs culturels, dont deux qu’il préside : Carnyx & Co, qui appuie le développement et l’utilisation de nouveaux instruments pour musiciens handicapés, et  Music Action International, qui aide les réfugiés et les demandeurs d’asile à se refaire une vie par l’interprétation de la musique. Il poursuit aussi ses activités comme chanteur soliste de musique classique.

Revenir à la page de la conférence nationale